Civil Air Patrol

Wisconsin Wing members dance the night away at 2013 Military Ball

Photo by Lt. Col. Jo Stys - With the Honor Guard at their post, the squadron queens and kings are announced.

Photo by Lt. Col. Jo Stys – With the Honor Guard at their post, the squadron queens and kings are announced.

Milwaukee, Wis. – Wisconsin Wing Civil Air Patrol members and their guests danced the night away at the 2013 Military Ball.  Held at the downtown Milwaukee War Memorial Center, nearly 200 people attended the evening’s festivities.

Selected from among eight squadron kings and queens from throughout the state, the 2013 Queen of the ball was Cadet Senior Airman Kalyn Finn, Timmerman Composite Squadron located in Milwaukee. Cadet Second Lieutenant Grant Delene from Walco Composite Squadron located in Elkhorn, was selected as the 2013 King of the ball.

A beautiful tiara was presented to the queen to wear and a specially created lapel pin was given to the king. Both were donated by Keith Pearce, owner of Bay Design Custom Jewelers in Janesville, Wis. and a former CAP member.

The Lieutenant Colonel William Cooper Award was given to five cadets from Southeast Group. Originally named after a member from Group XII before it became Southeast Wisconsin Group, the award is given to a cadet in each of the group’s squadron who has contributed the most to support their unit.  The cadet’s activity participation, persistence and hard work determine their eligibility. They are not always the highest ranking cadet of the squadron nor are they someone who has been in CAP the longest, but they are the hardest working cadet.

This year’s winners were:

  • Cadet Chief Master Sergeant Rebekkah Rosenburg, Kenosha Composite Squadron
  • Cadet Staff  Sergeant Jon Michael, Milwaukee Composite Squadron #5
  • Cadet Airman First Class Zach Bulanow, Racine Composite Squadron
  • Cadet Staff Sergeant Sarah Burmesh, Walco Composite Squadron
  • Cadet Sergeant Theodore Evert, Waukesha Composite Squadron

Cadet Captain Joshua Myszewski, Waukesha Composite Squadron and Master of Ceremonies for the evening, was awarded his Amelia Earhart Award by Lieutenant Colonel Rose Hunt, Wisconsin Wing vice-commander.

The award is the third milestone in Civil Air Patrol’s cadet program.  Any cadet who has received this award and who later enters the senior member program at the age of 21 is eligible for immediate promotion to First Lieutenant. In addition to retaining the benefits of the Mitchell Award, those earning the Earhart Award are eligible to apply for participation in the International Air Cadet Exchange Program.

Added to this year’s event was an honor guard ushering in the kings and queens. The color guard presented the flags and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited at the opening ceremony.

A special thanks goes to the Southeast Group for hosting the ball.  Key members participating in the planning and implementation of the fun-filled evening were:

  • Lieutenant Colonel Julie Sorenson, Southeast Group commander
  • Major Amanda Grandke, Racine Composite Squadron commander
  • Major Ron Sorenson, Walco Composite Squadron commander
  • Captain Ben Unger, Waukesha Composite Squadron commander
  • Captain Allison Graff, Milwaukee Composite Squadron #5, deputy commander for cadets
  • First Lieutenant Greg Turdo, Milwaukee Composite Squadron #5, logistics officer
  • First Lieutenant Michael Thoennes, Racine Composite Squadron, communications officer


© 2015 Wisconsin Wing. All rights reserved. | Web hosting provided by Dreamhost